What's on in Stoke

Parish Council


Barbara Brooks – Chairman
Phone: 01935 824432

Sarah Moore – Clerk to the Council
Tel: 01935 822455
E-mail: clerksshpc@hotmail.co.uk

About the Parish Council

Stoke sub Hamdon Parish Council consists of 11 Councillors and one Parish Clerk. It meets in the Memorial Hall on the first Wednesday of every month except August. Members of the public are welcome to attend these meetings.

The meeting starts at 7pm and there is an opportunity for the public to raise any issues at the beginning of the meeting during the Public Session. All matters for discussion are published on the agenda. Minutes of the Parish Council meetings will be available on this website and are displayed on the notice board in front of the Memorial Hall in West Street once they have been approved.

The Parish Council consists of a number of working parties which manage matters on behalf of the village including Planning, Finance, Youth and a tree warden. The Parish Council is also represented on any major organisations within the village, such as the Sports and Recreation Trust and the Memorial Hall Committee.

Parish Councillors

The following people constitute the Parish Council

  • Barbara Brooks – Chairman
  • Hugh Donovan – Vice Chairman
  • Andy Dawe
  • Rebecca Merrick
  • Graham Middleton
  • Malcolm Uhlhorn
  • Suzanne Nelms
  • Lyn Foley
  • Bill Southcombe


The Parish Council publishes a monthly newsletter to keep the village informed of Parish Council activities as well as information about what’s on and any other interesting items of news and village events. The newsletter is delivered free of charge to every household by volunteers.

The Newsletter is open to anyone who wishes to publish information about an event, activities in the village, news items or items of general interest. Articles should be sent to the Parish Clerk.